Model 57M question

Anything to do with Lever Action Guns

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

Donnybrook
Beginner

Model 57M question

Post by Donnybrook »

Hello. Newbie here. I recently refurbed my Model 57M (.22 Mag levermatic) that I've had since childhood. I was curious to find the date of manufacture so I looked for a serial number. Oddly, there is no serial number anywhere. I took the gun down completely. Any ideas as to date? Definitely a steel receiver, not aluminum. Confirmed by magnet. Does the lack of a ser# give it any more value? Thanks
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: Model 57M question

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Donnybrook;

The Marlin Model 57M had an aluminum receiver from 1959 and up to 1960 when it was changed to a steel receiver. Marlin did not serialize several ines of the guns they manufactured as it added an extra manufacturing step that added to the cost. In 1968, the Federal Government passed the Gun Control Act of 1968 requiring all guns manufactured to have serial numbers and records maintained. So, your Marlin Model 57M would have been made sometime between 1966 and 1968. Since Marlin made over 66,000 of the Model 57M's (including those made for Sears, Roebuck and Company and Western Auto), there are lots of guns "out there" that may not have serial numbers like yours. So, that is not a value enhancer. The Model 57M has become a collectors item in it's own right and is worth something to a collector wanting to add one to their collection.
Due to the increasing cost of ammunition, there will be no warning shot!

The growing federal deficit = generational slavery to the national debt.

If the world was perfect.......it wouldn't be.
rjtmac
Beginner

Post by rjtmac »