Can someone let us know what each of these shotguns are worth?

Anything Shot Gun related

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

Marlinman
Beginner

Can someone let us know what each of these shotguns are worth?

Post by Marlinman »

I know there are a lot of "value" books out there, but most are not accurate. I was wondering if someone that collects Marlin shotguns could fill in the values for "C" and "D" grades below:

Assume high-condition (like a 85%+ gun):

Model 1898 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 16 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 17 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 19 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 21 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 24 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 24 Slide Action Shotgun Trap
Model 26 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 28 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 30 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 30 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 31 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 31 Slide Action Shotgun
Model 410 Lever Action Shotgun

I'm new to shotguns (I know the lever action pre-model 1897 pretty well, but have no idea on shotguns.

Thank you.
Marlin Model 1881 through Model '97 Collector
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Re: Can someone let us know what each of these shotguns are worth?

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

Mark;

First, there are some of those models that were made only in one grade. The Model 17 was made as either a riot gun, brush gun or the standard A grade gun. Same with the Model 26.
The lever action .410 was pretty much a standard gun and none were engraved. There are some that have deluxe, checkered wood, but they are very rare, and have been faked, so beware.
Then there is the difference in production of some models. The Model 21 was in the catalogs only a couple of years, and they are seldom seen. Especially in either the C or D grades.