My Model 336RC... Info?

Anything to do with Lever Action Guns

Moderators: Regnier (gunrunner), JohnK, Sure-Shot

NRA Instructor
Beginner

My Model 336RC... Info?

Post by NRA Instructor »

Greetings!

I was wondering if anyone could tell me anything about my Marlin. I've never heard of the "RC" model designation before, only "C".

On the top left side (shooter holding the rifle as if to fire) of the barrel, is the markings:

The Marlin Firearms Co. NEW HAVEN, CONN., U.S.A.
EST. 1870 - MICRO-GROOVE BARREL - MOD 336-R.C. CAL. .30-.30

The serial number is AC 39**

Any information would be greatly appreciated! Thanks :)
SteveW
Distinguished Expert

Post by SteveW »

RC means 'Regular Carbine'. This is a common model.SW
I am really not an expert - distinguished or otherwise!!
Regnier (gunrunner)
Distinguished Expert

Post by Regnier (gunrunner) »

NRA Instructor;

The Model 336 C was replaced by the Model 336 CS (cross bolt safety version) in 1984. Your gun with the "AC" serial number prefix was manufactured in 1967.
I hope this helps.
NRA Instructor
Beginner

Post by NRA Instructor »

Thank you so much!! Nice to know that my rifle is older than I am! (I'm 32)

I recently bought a Sig .40 (for carry) and a S&W 686 (for anything), both of which were recently made. I love them both, and I know they're excellent firearms, but this rifle... Can't help but feel like I'm holding a piece of American history in my hands. Always wanted a lever gun since I was a little kid. (Used to call them "Cowboy rifles") :lol:

This rifle came with the original box (Funny to see a box with no UPC symbol on it!), but unfortunately no manual. I wrote to Marlin to have them send a replacement manual (and asked them the exact date of manufacturer and engineer name), but in the meantime I tried to clean it as best I could with only a basic knowledge of Marlin levers.